RSS

Happy New Year and goodbye Europe (for now)

01 Jan

Today is our last full day in Europe.  I’m not counting tomorrow since we leave Arles at 11:00 and take the train back to Paris.  Travel days don’t count.

Last night we celebrated the new year a full 6 hours ahead of normal.  Back home in Hagerstown there is a new tradition.  The dropping of a Krumpe Do-nut.  Just like the ball in New York City.  They did it at 7:00 instead of midnight because it was a family affair.  I really hoped it was going to drop at 6:00 because then we could have watched the donut drop at midnight our time.  It was a relaxing evening playing games with just the 5 of us.  Usually the girls and I spend our New Years Eve with the Porters.  And Mom and Dad at Aunt Dawn and Uncle Kevin’s house.

IMG_2024 Our New Years Eve spread.  Fruit (pineapple, kiwi, and some kind of orange fruit), shrimp, baguette, cheese, olives and salami, yummy pastries and chocolate covered marshmallows.  And the bowl of candy mom brought from home.  Wine and champagne.

New Years Day brings corned beef and cabbage prepared by Mom.  I couldn’t find corned beef here in Arles.  Well maybe they have it but the signs at the market and the packages at the stores are in french.  I am learning the french words for some food items but not corned beef.  So instead of getting something that is really not what we wanted we went for a pork roast.  Pork in french is spelled porc so it’s pretty easy to distinguish.  We did buy a head of cabbage at the market yesterday.  Mom says eating cabbage is for good luck for the new year so we are eating it.

I am going to miss the markets here in France.  I’ve enjoyed going to them twice a week to get fresh produce.  I’ve been able to get pineapples for 1 euro.  And lots of clementines very cheap.  We also got this orange fruit that is very good.  It tastes kind of like a melon but sweet.  Does anyone know what it is?  The box says cuquefrut on it but google didn’t help.  Here is a picture.

IMG_1925

We’ve done more sight seeing since my parents got here.  The first Monday we took the train to Avignon to visit their Christmas Market.  It was not as big as the one in Colmar and Mom says the one they visited in Paris was bigger.  I managed to buy the 5 tickets from a lady at the train station who did not speak English.  I use a lot of hand motions and I do well with numbers.  I just start with “Parlez-vous anglais” – do you speak English.  Or “Je ne parle pas francais” – I do not speak French.  Or just smile and nod and pretend I know what they are saying.  And hope that I get what I want.

While in Avignon we visited the Palais des Papes.  It is a large (and I’m talking BIG) palace built by the Pope beginning in 1335.  It took 20 years to complete.  Others added and took away from the original building through the years.  http://www.palais-des-papes.com/en/content/discover is the link to find out more about the palace.

IMG_1737  IMG_1747

We also took a bus to St. Remy de Provence.  Van Gogh spent some time here at the asylum after leaving Arles.  My favorite painting by him is Starry Night.  It was painted in St. Remy.  We walked around and visited areas where Van Gogh did some paintings.

IMG_1895 A statue of Van Gogh at the asylum

IMG_1898 The courtyard inside the asylum

IMG_1907  IMG_1915  I love all of the olive trees!

While in St. Remy we went to the Joel Durand Chocolatier boutique.  Manon sent me some chocolates from here for Christmas in 2009.  I’ve been wanting some more ever since.  I got a box for myself and will be enjoying them at home during January fondly remembering France.

A few more sights of Arles…

The Roman Amphitheater

IMG_1823  IMG_1848 IMG_1830  IMG_1864  IMG_1869

IMG_1844 It was very windy on top of the tower.

IMG_1839 Views of Arles from the Amphitheater tower.

In Arles there is also a Roman Theater.  Most of it has been destroyed but some is left.  IMG_1949  IMG_1957

And Constantine’s Baths.  They are mostly in ruins now.  I am so glad we have running water in our homes now and we can bathe in private.

IMG_1961

IMG_1769  IMG_1775  We did have a few presents under our tree on Christmas and stockings.  No room in our suitcases for big presents to bring home this year.

IMG_1803  IMG_1975  IMG_1947

A few last pictures of us in Arles.  See you soon in America!

Au Revoir,

Robin, Holly & Katie

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Happy New Year and goodbye Europe (for now)

  1. Nicole Alvarez

    January 1, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Yeah!!!! You are almost here. We can’t wait to see you! My kids wanted to get together this Fridady. I had to let them know that they would have to wait just a bit. :o)

     
  2. Tyra

    January 1, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    As always beautiful pictures! Riley has been counting down the days until you get home. The other day he was opening up a container of yogurt and said “Katie and Holly will be home before this expires.” He also wanted to know if we could meet you at the airport. And he has some MineCraft techno thingy he wants for his birthday but we can’t even think about buying it until Katie and Holly are home and he has conferenced with them on exactly what he should get. Needless to say you have all been missed and we can’t wait for you to get home. Safe travels! And tell Katie I can’t wait to give her a BIIIIGGGGG welcome home hug! I know she has missed me!

     

Leave a comment